CAPS Announces Nine Talented Winners of Annual Student 'Growing Pains' Video Contest

Published on May 23rd, 2017

Press Contacts:
Toby White

Joe Guzzardi


 Cash Prizes Awarded at 9th Annual Southern California Student Film Festival Event

– Winning Videos Showcased at www.CAPSweb.org –

Santa Barbara, CA – Californians for Population Stabilization (CAPS) announced the winners for the annual video contest, “Growing Pains,” in conjunction with Southern California Student Film Festival (SoCalSFF) on Saturday, April 29 at the 9th Annual Film Festival held at the Beckman Performing Arts Center in Irvine, California.
“It is always an honor to participate,” said Jo Wideman, Executive Director of Californians for Population Stabilization (CAPS). “Each year we are dazzled by all of our bright young contestants and their talent to convey the effects of overpopulation through video in such poignant and engaging ways.”
Film students and contest entry enthusiasts were asked to meet a simple list of criteria. The more than 100 video entries spanned subject matter including population growth, wildlife, threatened environmental treasures, crowded schools, traffic congestion, quality of life, the environment and the danger/impact of dwindling water resources.
The winners are:

  • First Place: “Wildfire,” Brian HyoJoon Kim (Beckman High School)
  • Second Place: “Too Much of a Good Thing,” Caleb Garrett (El Dorado High School)
  • Third Place: “Our World,” Hilda Chaya and Brendon Ada (Beckman High School)
  • Fourth Place: “Contaminated,” Cassidy Johnson, Katrina Ujiie and Arash Maghbouleh (Beckman High School)
  • Fifth Place: “Two Worlds, One Planet,” Garrett Kukier and Jessica Stossel (Beckman High School).

Students were motivated to enter the Growing Pains contest for a variety of reasions, including raising awareness about the downside of population exceeding sustainability, avid interest in the conservation of California’s natural resources, and the very real possibility of California simply “running out of space.”
To view the winning videos please click here.

Pictured left to right: Zach Letson (presenter and 2016 winner); Jessica Stossel; Arash Maghbouleh; Cassidy Johnson; Hyo Brian Kim; Garrett Kukier; Hilda Chaya and Brendon Ada.


You are donating to :

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note